Coffee Shop

When time gets tough

It is hard for me to breathe

People are so busy, no time to hear me

So I am the only one here

Alone, hopefully not lonely

But I used to be forgotten

I used to be left behind

So it shouldn’t break me

It shouldn’t hurt me

Walked to the coffee shop

Try to vanish the loneliness

A cup of coffee on my table

Couldn’t keep the feeble heart

Someone taps on my back

That is how heΒ came

But I used to be forgotten

I used to be left behind

So it shouldn’t break me

It shouldn’t hurt me

But you came in the right time

Your smile was so bright

Your eyes were so right

You promise yourself

That was how we met

But I used to be alone

And I used to have no one

So it shouldn’t break me

It shouldn’t hurt me

8 thoughts on “Coffee Shop

      1. I especially like the opening part, as I know what it is like to be in a room with people, while still feeling alone. I know the feeling of being left behind and forgotten and I know the feeling of knowing someone who takes that pain away, if only for a little while. I also know the feeling of being alone and feeling sad, even when I feel as if I should be happy in that moment.. πŸ™‚

  1. My universe revolves around my wife and we are at the beginning of moving over 1000 miles away from where we have lived for 17 years.

    Today marks day two of separation. I am alone but not yet lonely. Her new job has her in Ireland this week (we live in the middle of the USA) but Friday she flies back to me and we drive to Florida where I will leave her as I stay in Iowa until our house sells.

    We start again.

    I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely, I am alone but I am not lonely…

Leave a Reply

